A Drosselmeyer, Buzz Bomb surprise

Amidst the continuing organizing, reorganizing, decorating, frustrating chaos that lends itself to two lives uniting into one, AjZig and I took a break Saturday to take in some of the Belmont Stakes.

Correction-I took a break Saturday to take in some of the Belmont. AjZig might have taken the whole day in devotion to the storied Triple Crown race and all of its online gambling glory. I prefer to be ignorant on that point.

We don’t have cable, so I suggested trying to get ABC with rabbit ears on the ancient 36″ POS pawned off on us by my clutter-maligning dad. But I hear those ears are a thing of the past. Yes. I do have a blog.

We solved the problem by heading down to the Beer Trappe for a drink.

I went with a classic-tasting Foret Saison. I’d never had it on tap, and I was quite impressed at the crispness of the citrus, along with the typical yeasty character, compared to my bottle experience a year or so ago. I could probably have had another one of these. But at 7.5% abv, I probably didn’t need to.

AjZig went for the Dogfish Head Black & Blue, which didn’t taste at all like its 10.0% abv. The Belgian was quite sweet, too sweet for some of the Trappe clientele, as I noticed from the running commentary present at this increasingly busy bar. I enjoyed petite sips of the Black & Blue, but might not have enjoyed an entire glass.

A pair for the ages: Dogfish Head Black and Blue and Foret Saison.

Actually, our brews tasted pretty good together, which was a bit of an aberration for hops-lovers. Most of the time, one of our brews overpowers the other. I would even go so far to say that this time, the Saison  complemented the B&B.

Locally-owned Drosselmeyer performed in the Run for the Carnations to a surprisingly cool crowd. They seemed ambivalent compared to AjZig‘s enthusiastic whoops and hollars. The boy won his bet.!

We had to celebrate, so we chose the bright and summery golden Buzz Bomb from Brooklyn Brewery.

Our clever bartender clearly spelled out the various ways “buzz” could be employed in the brew’s name, just in case AjZig and I forgot our brains at home. (OK. That was a bit harsh. He was a nice guy.)

There was, in fact, a bit of honey in the palate, but the Saison could have altered my buds. Buzz Bomb is a bit high in cohol for a session beer, but a few of these on a grillin’ out summer night would be pretty perfect, I think.

A delicious way to end a Saturday. Sometimes putting two and two together isn’t have bad.

iBelle

Leave a comment